Nail Varnish, James Mortimer’s debut poetry collection, is out now! Click on the cover below to buy it on Bandcamp! (Lots of other places coming soon!)


Nail Varnish is a 17-poem collection, recorded in January this year at Riverway Studios. These poems explore honesty, missing someone, alter egos, dancing, mental health, sex and lots of other stuff. I’m so excited and proud to finally release these poems, and I hope that you enjoy them. I hope they speak to you in a way poetry hasn’t before – and I hope that even if you hate poetry, you give them a chance. These are for you.

Lots of streaming services are coming very soon! Full details of where can be found here.

There’s still a chance to order limited edition, made-to-order physical CDs. They cost £10 and they’re individually designed. You can contact me at for one of these.

Each track has an individual cover, which will be revealed here soon. Some of the tracks are available on Soundcloud here (recorded prior to the Riverway recording.)

To have these poems hanging around with me for so long has been a privilege, and it’s been so exciting to hear people’s reactions, people’s confidence in me and my work, and the poems spoken aloud. They exist in the world more than any of my poetry has before – and I couldn’t be prouder. (Until my next collection comes out, of course. I’ve already got about ten ideas for that competing in my head 24/7.)

Thank you for listening and for staying with me on this. There’s still a whole lot of stuff about this collection to come, and, of course, one day, more poetry… x


NAIL VARNISH // 17.2.17


I’m super excited to announce that my debut poetry collection, Nail Varnish, will be released on Friday 17th February 2017.

The collection, an exploration of a new voice, a book about break ups, mental health, dancing, and lying in poetry, was recorded at Riverway Studios last week. It was a great experience and I can’t wait for you all to hear the collection.

The collection will be available in a variety of formats:

iTUNES – the full studio recording of Nail Varnish, available to own digitally.

BANDCAMP – the full studio recording of Nail Varnish, available to own digitally. You can buy my EP, Chipped, from there already:

SPOTIFY – you’ll be able to stream the full studio recording of the collection from Spotify and selected other streaming services.

DIGITAL BOOK, details of where to buy available soon.

VERY LIMITED EDITION MADE-TO-ORDER CD – a physical copy of the studio recording of NAIL VARNISH. Each with custom cover. £10.

For the LIMITED EDITION CD, please email or on Twitter @jmortimerpoetry.

There’s still lots of exciting things to come for the collection around its release, more of which will be announced soon. I’ll also be revealing the cover for the collection – and the individual covers for the tracks – very soon.

You can stream some of the tracks from the collection on my Soundcloud, and find me on Facebook here.

Thank you to anyone who’s listened to my poetry; it’s appreciated so so much. Exciting things to come x

NAIL VARNISH | The Debut Poetry Collection


“A sycophantic, prophetic, Socratic, junkie, wannabe.”
-The 1975; “The Sound”

“Obviously, my wounds are open to see, but don’t take them seriously.”
-Keaton Henson; “Alright”

I’m proud to announce my debut poetry collection, Nail Varnish. Nail Varnish is a 17-poem collection, containing the poems from my recently released Chipped, as well as 13 previously unseen works. The collection will be released as both an album and a book in early 2017, with details of how to get hold of a copy, and the cover, coming soon.

Nail Varnish is about the expectation of honesty, and speaking in someone else’s voice, while missing another person’s. It’s also about dancing, jealousy, sex, hipsters, and many other things.

I’m super excited to also announce the ‘tracklist’ for the collection, which is as follows.

  1. Nail-Varnish
  2. Phoebe
  3. The Bloggses
  4. Dim
  5. Greek Gods
  6. Selfhood
  7. Slight
  8. Veins
  9. Untitled
  10. Friends
  11. an interlude on identities
  12. Not really a poem about road trips
  13. Felix
  14. Desire
  15. 1959
  16. Ophelia
  17. Girl

Each track has individual cover art, which will be unveiled in the lead up to the release.

I’ll be reading one of the poems from the collection on Livewire1350 tomorrow on my radio show, between 9-10.30am. You can listen here.

Thank you to anyone who has listened to my work so far. Nail Varnish has been written for about six months, so I can’t wait to finally share its voice with you. I hope you enjoy the stuff to come. x


“Chipped”, my sort-of-EP, is out now! You can buy the whole thing on Bandcamp below for 99p. It contains my three previously released poems, as well as a brand new one, “Not really a poem about road trips”.

You can also read the whole thing, for free, by clicking here.

The previously released poems are still available to listen to for free on Soundcloud, and Bandcamp allows you three full plays of the whole EP before purchase. I totally don’t expect everyone to rush out and spend money on my poetry, but even if you’re just reading this, or read the written version above, or listen to a few on seconds on Soundcloud, it’s hugely appreciated.

I’m going to release one, maybe two, more poems on Soundcloud, before the full release of my collection in 2017. There’s a very exciting reason I can’t release the whole thing until then, which I’ll share very soon. I’ll be announcing details of the collection over the next couple of months.

Thank you again for listening, or taking an interest. I’d love this poetry to reach and be enjoyed by people who normally wouldn’t give it a second thought, so feel free to share.

James x


GREEK GODS (and an announcement)

After a great reaction to “1959”, I’m really pleased to share “Greek Gods”, the latest poem from my upcoming collection. You can listen to it on Soundcloud now.

From 6th October, my poems “Felix”, “1959” and “Greek Gods” will be released on Bandcamp as a preview of my upcoming collection. The preview, currently called “Chipped”, will be joined by a brand new poem, only available on the Bandcamp release.

POETRY - Chipped Promo Art

After the release of “Chipped”, I will share one more piece from the upcoming collection, before releasing all of it on several platforms. Details of the full collection, with seventeen poems, will be announced soon on this blog.

Thank you if you’ve listened, liked, shared x

You can follow me on Twitter and Instragram @jmortimerpoetry.


I’m super excited to share my new poem, “1959”. It’s from my upcoming collection, which I’ll be detailing soon on this blog.

It would be lovely if you could listen & share. The next poem will be released sometime in August.



I’m very very excited to share the first poem from my upcoming collection. This is “Felix”.

You can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at @jmortimerpoetry, and very soon you’ll be able to read some notes on “Felix” here.

The artwork is ‘Self-Portrait with Splayed Fingers’ by Egon Schiele.

Coming soon – details on the collection and a release of another new poem.